Tuesday, November 10, 2009

The Byrds at Fillmore West - Jan 4, 1970

Roger McGuinn - guitar, vocals
Clarence White - guitar, mandolin
Skip Battin - bass, vocals
Gene Parsons - drums, vocals

Recorded on the final night of a three night Fillmore West run, headlining over Fleetwood Mac and John Hammond, Jr., this is the McGuinn, White, Battin, Parsons lineup early on, one which would last longer than any other Byrds lineup. The band was promoting The Ballad Of Easy Rider LP, where the group continued to explore elements of country and western music, while they headed toward a heavier electric rock sound. Ex-Kentucky Colonels guitarist, Clarence White, is perhaps the most fascinating aspect of this lineup and his innovative stringbending techniques and fluid solos are well represented here.

1. You Ain't Going Nowhere
2. Feel A Whole Lot Better
3. Old Blue
4. You All Look Alike
5. Positively 4th Street
6. Jesus Is Just Alright
7. Mr. Spaceman
8. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
9. Take A City Bride
10. Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)
11. Mr. Tambourine Man
12. Eight Miles High
13. Hold It


marram62 said...


Timmy said...

Good FM recording. Thanx!